How do I get a Nicholson Memorial Library System card?

Local Residents

A Library card is available to residents of Garland and surrounding communities. You must be 18 with a valid photo ID to get your own Library card. Otherwise, a parent or legal guardian with ID would need to cosign. Please bring your unexpired official state photo ID (Texas driver’s license, Texas ID, Matricula, out of state license) with your full name and current address on the ID. If the ID does not show your current address, you must present proof of address. Acceptable items for proof of address include current utility bill, lease agreement, auto insurance or bank statement. The proof of address has to have your name on it.

Those Residing Outside Northeast Texas

People residing outside of Northeast Texas may get a 30-day Visitor card. Visitors cannot check out materials but can use the Internet on computers at the Library or through our wireless access. Bring your current state-issued photo ID to any Garland Library to get a Visitor Card.

Replacing a Card

If you had a card and need to replace it bring your current unexpired official state photo ID and a $2 replacement fee to any Garland Library and get a new card.

Show All Answers

1. How do I get a Nicholson Memorial Library System card?
2. How old do you have to be to get a library card?
3. What types of identification do I need to get a library card?
4. Can I check my library account online?
5. How do I find out what my PIN is?
6. What if I do not remember what phone number I have in my Library account?
7. Can I see what items I have checked out?
8. Can I see what items I have requested/placed on hold?
9. Can I see what items I have requested through inter-library loan?
10. Do library cards expire?
11. Why can't I login?
12. Will I get charged if I don’t return an item?
13. How will I know if I have overdue items?
14. I currently have overdue fines. Do I still have to pay them?
15. I lost the items that are charged to my account, but I can’t afford to pay the replacement costs. Will you clear those charges?
16. What if I have lost items on my account but I still have them? Can I still bring them back?
17. Is the library going to lose money by not collecting fines?
18. What about personal responsibility?